Photo Gallery


You are now here Home > News & Events > News >

Nobel Laureate Prof. Ada Yonath Employed as Honorary Professor of UESTC

published: 2017-10-24 14:59:39       hits: 

On Oct. 10th, 2017, Prof. Ada Yonath, the Israel scientist, and 2009 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry was employed as Honorary Professor of UESTC at Qingshuihe Campus. Prof. Li Yanrong, President of UESTC issued the letter of appointment, and helped her wear the university badge. Prof. Xiong Caidong, Vice President of UESTC hosted the appointment ceremony.\

On behalf of UESTC, Prof. Li Yanrong extended his warm welcome to Prof. Ada Yonath. He said, China and Israel have kept long-term good relationship with each other, and diverse exchanges on various levels are vigorous. In recent years, frequent high-level visits between UESTC and Israel institutions of higher learning have continuously deepened the cooperation. Fruitful results have been achieved, and the Center for Israel Studies of UESTC was founded, which focuses on the study of Israel innovation culture and the transformation mechanism of her scientific and technological achievements. Lately, UESTC was successfully enlisted into the country's construction plan of "world-class universities". Next, in the 13th Five-Year Plan period (2016-2020), UESTC will strive to develop herself into a world-top research university in electronic information with deep integration of science and engineering. To achieve this goal, great effort will be made in the development of fundamental science, including mathematics, physics, chemistry, and so on. Therefore, UESTC hopes to carry out closer cooperation with Prof. Ada Yonath to guide UESTC's fundamental research and development of fundamental science.

Prof. Ada Yonathexpressed her gladness to visit UESTC and become Honorary Professor of UESTC. She hopes UESTC faculties and students will enjoy the lecture she has prepared—"Climbing the Everest beyond the Everest", and expects more cooperation with UESTC.


At the ceremony, Prof. Shen Xiaorong, Deputy Party Secretary of UESTC introduced Prof. Ada Yonath to faculties and students. Prof. Ada Yonath is honored as the Israel Marie Curie. She received the L'Oréal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science in 2008. Then in 2009, she won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome, becoming the fourth woman Nobel Laureate in Chemistry after Marie Curie, Irene Joliot-Curie, and Dorothy Hodgkin. She is also the first woman to win the Nobel Prize over the 50 years during 1964-2015. Currently, she serves as the Director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel.

Members of the national "Thousand Talents Plan" including Pro. Cui Jiaxi, Prof. Qiao Liang, Prof. Wang Zenghui, and Prof. Zhao Hui, Prof. Hu Jun, the Party Committee member, and head of Human Resources Department and Teacher Affairs Department of Party Committee, Prof. Wang Zhiming, Executive Dean of the Institute of Fundamental and Frontier Sciences, Rao Jiansheng, Direct Party Branch Secretary of the Institute of Fundamental and Frontier Sciences, Prof. Wang Bingzhong,Vice Dean of Graduate School, Prof. Di Aiying, Director of the International Office, and so on attended the ceremony.

In the afternoon, Prof. Ada Yonath was invited to give a lecture in UESTC Forum. The theme of her lecture was "Climbing the Everest beyond the Everest". By quoting Albert Einstein's words "I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious", she shared feelings about her scientific research experiences—20 years' unremitting effort and 25000 times' failuresbefore the Nobel Prize. Students were greatly inspired by Prof. Ada Yonath's experiences. Prof. Shen Xiaorong, Deputy Party Secretary of UESTC attended the lecture. The lecture was hosted by Prof. Hu Jiehui, Vice Dean of School of Foreign Languages.


This UESTC Forum was hosted byNational Cultural Quality-oriented Education Base for University Students and Institute of Fundamental and Frontier Sciences of UESTC, and undertaken by School of Life Science and Technology of UESTC and School of Information and Software Engineering of UESTC.

Translator: Fang Fang