Photo Gallery


You are now here Home > News & Events > News >

Prof. Liang Yingchang was Elected as A Foreign Academician of Academia Europaea

published: 2019-07-08 16:20:00       hits: 

Recently, Academia Europaea released a list of new academicians in 2019. Professor Liang Yingchang, a national distinguished expert from national key laboratory of communication anti-jamming technology, was elected as a foreign academician of Academia Europaea. This is the first time that a teacher from our university has been elected as an academician of the Academia,owing to his outstanding contributions in the field of wireless communications.


Professor Liang Yingchang was honored as IEEE Fellow in December 2010 and was selected as Thomson Reuters/Clarivate Analytics "World's Highly Cited Scientists" for five consecutive years from 2014-2018 (only 10 scientists in the global Wireless Communications field have been selected for five consecutive years). He has published more than 400 professional papers in top journals and conferences in this field such as IEEE JSAC, IEEE Trans and Information Theory. The total paper citations on Google Scholar exceeded 25,000, and the H index was 73 with a maximum citation of more than 2,800 of a paper. Professor Liang was the chief editor of the IEEE JSAC Cognitive Radio Series and is currently the chief editor of IEEE Cognitive Communications and Networking. He once served as Executive Vice President of the IEEE Globecom'17 Conference, one of the two major annual conferences of the IEEE Communications Society, and President of the Technical Procedures Committee of the Conference.

Academia Europaea, the "National Academy of Sciences" and the statutory scientific adviser of the European Union, was co-sponsored by the Royal Society of England and the National Academy of Sciences in Europe. It was established in 1988 and headquartered in London, England. As one of the most influential scientific organizations with the broadest academic fields and highest academic status, Academia Europaea includes top scholars in the fields of natural sciences, life sciences, social sciences, and humanities, who are mainly selected among academicians from all over Europe. It is assumed as a lofty international academic honor.

The election of academicians of Academia Europaea is held once a year. The process includes peer nomination, stringent academic review, multiple rounds of voting by the academic group and department, as well as final approval by the Council of the Academia Europaea. At present, among all academicians of Academia Europaea 73 are Nobel Prize winners, 15 are Fields Medal winners, and 6 are Turing Award winners.


Translated by Xia Ling, supervised by Long Mei