Photo Gallery


You are now here Home > News & Events > News >

24 UESTC Scientists named in Highly Cited Researchers 2019

published: 2019-12-02 15:08:55       hits: 

On Nov 19th, Clarivate Analytics released the Highly Cited Researchers 2019. 23 scientists of UESTC including Professor Liang Yingchang are on the list, ranking among the top in the universities of the China. It is the first time that UESTC has entered the top 40 colleges and universities in the world.


(Table1: Selected universities of mainland China)

With the in-depth promotion of the strategy of giving priority to the development of talents, our school has further strengthened the intensity of attracting talents and made great efforts to build a high-level fundamental research team based on highly cited scientists around the world. This year, the selected researchers mainly focus oneight fields, including chemistry, materials, mathematics and cross-field. The number of selected researchers has increased by 7 people, up 43.75%. Professor Sun Xuping is highlighted simultaneously in two different academic fields, chemistry and materials respectively. Professors Zhu Xiaofeng, Zhong Shoumin and Li Xuesong entered the list for the first time. Young scholars including Sajeewa Sandeshya Nilukana and Hassan Karimi-maleh are the first non-Chinese highly cited scientists from all over the world to come to work full-time in our school.

It is reported that this list is released by Clarivate Analytics (the former Thomson Reuters Intellectual Property and Technology Division). The number of highly cited scientists or the number of papers highly cited by ESI play an important role in the evaluation of the discipline and universities at home and abroad. For example, in the ShanghaiRanking’s Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU), the number of highly cited scientists, the number of alumni who won the Nobel Prize and Fields Medal and the number of teachers are the primary indicators of measuring academic impact of universities and colleges.


Translated by Fan Zhaojun, supervised by Liao Min.